40 Days To Change My Life

5 Mar

Today I started the 40 Day Prayer Challenge, by Mark Batterson. Although I am extremely excited about where the Lord will take me on these next 40 days, I am also extraordinarily nervous. Why? Because I am circling my future.

The 40 Day Prayer Challenge is a devotional of sorts that comes from Mark’s book, The Circle Maker – which if you haven’t read, you really must do so. This little excerpt from the website explains it nicely:

According to Pastor Mark Batterson in his book, The Circle Maker, “Drawing prayer circles around our dreams isn’t just a mechanism whereby we accomplish great things for God. It’s a mechanism whereby God accomplishes great things in us.” Do you ever sense that there’s far more to prayer, and to God’s vision for your life, than what you’re experiencing? It’s time you learned from the legend of Honi the Circle Maker—a man bold enough to draw a circle in the sand and not budge from inside it until God answered his prayers for his people. What impossibly big dream is God calling you to draw a prayer circle around? Sharing inspiring stories from his own experiences as a circle maker, Mark Batterson will help you uncover your heart’s deepest desires and God-given dreams and unleash them through the kind of audacious prayer that God delights to answer.

Woah, right? The book blew my mind. Now, it’s time for the Prayer Challenge to blow my life out of the water, out of proportion, and out of all other sorts of normalities. As you may know, I am graduating from Texas A&M in approximately 9 weeks. The catch is that I am graduating and currently have no post graduation plans. I have been waiting, more or less, for God to show me where He wants me. Some of the waiting time has been spent applying to jobs I have no interest in to satisfy my need for security, control, and answers. As He would have it, none of those jobs have panned out. So I will continue to wait.

Not having answers or direction puts me in a place of discomfort, the exact place where God has so often times worked wonders throughout time. I have no choice but to wait, which is hard, but deep down its exactly what I want because I want nothing more after graduating than to know I am exactly where HE wants me to be. I am on Day 1 of the challenge and already I feel relief. Simply knowing I am willingly setting my future in His hands brings peace in and of itself.

Today I prayed for my eyes to be opened, and for clarity in my heart and mind. I prayed He would guide me to the right door and that my faith would be multiplied. I prayed for Him to use me, allow me to serve Him. I also prayed for the relationships in my life and that He would show me which should stay and which should be released as I take this next step in life. I prayed for my family and friends, that they would have the same peace about wherever He sends me.  I told Him I didn’t really know what to pray or how to do this, but I know without a doubt He knows the cries of my heart.

” In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” Romans 8:26

I may be nervous, but I am blessed beyond my understanding to serve such an awesome, powerful God. I challenge you to take the 40 Day Prayer Challenge. Pick up the little book that will change your life. Like Mark says, “If you pray to God regularly, irregular things will happen to you on a regular basis.”

- KaRonna

One Response to “40 Days To Change My Life”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book review: Draw the Circle by Mark Batterson | Thoughts of Sam Isaacson - March 7, 2013

    [...] 40 Days To Change My Life (thegirlshouse.wordpress.com) [...]

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,184 other followers

